Order of the Arrow

About the Order of the Arrow

The Order of the Arrow (OA) is the national honor society of the Boy Scouts of America and bestows recognition on Scouts selected by their peers as best exemplifying the ideals of Scouting. The society was created by E. Urner Goodman, with the assistance of Carroll A. Edson, in 1915 as a means of reinforcing the Scout Oath and the Scout Law. The goal was to establish these as lifelong guidelines, and to encourage continued participation in Scouting and camping.

The OA is a program of Scouts BSA; youth members are elected only from Scouts BSA troops and Varsity Scout teams. To be eligible for election, a Scout must be at least First Class rank, have fulfilled specified camping requirements, have the approval of their Scoutmaster or Varsity Coach and must be elected by the youth members of the troop or team.

The Northern Star Council is served by the Totanhan Nakaha Lodge of the Order of the Arrow. The Totanhan Nakaha Lodge is a member of Section C-1A, which serves lodges in the upper Midwest.


The mission of the Order of the Arrow is to fulfill its purpose as an integral part of the Boy Scouts of America through positive youth leadership under the guidance of selected capable adults.


As Scouting’s National Honor Society, our purpose is to:

  • Recognize those who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives and through that recognition cause others to conduct themselves in a way that warrants similar recognition.
  • Promote camping, responsible outdoor adventure, and environmental stewardship as essential components of every Scout’s experience, in the unit, year-round, and in summer camp.
  • Develop leaders with the willingness, character, spirit and ability to advance the activities of their units, our Brotherhood, Scouting, and ultimately our nation.
  • Crystallize the Scout habit of helpfulness into a life purpose of leadership in cheerful service to others.


While there are three levels of membership (called “honors”) in the Order of the Arrow, all members—regardless of honor—are considered equal.


The induction ceremony, called the Ordeal, is the first step toward full membership in the Order. During the experience, candidates maintain silence, receive small amounts of food, work on camp improvement projects, and sleep apart from other campers. The entire experience is designed to teach significant values. All candidates for membership must complete the Ordeal.

Brotherhood Membership

After 6 months of service as an Ordeal member and fulfilling certain requirements, a member may take part in the Brotherhood ceremony, which places further emphasis on the ideals of Scouting and the Order. Completion of this ceremony signifies full membership in the Order.

Vigil Honor

After two years of exceptional service as a Brotherhood member, and with the approval of the national Order of the Arrow committee, a Scout or Scouter may be recognized with the Vigil Honor for their distinguished contributions to their lodge, the Order of the Arrow, Scouting, or their Scout camp. This honor is bestowed by special selection and is limited to one person for every 50 members registered with the lodge each year.

Scouting 141 Vigil Members

YearNameLenape NameTranslation
1968Stephan RoskosAptonen LuppoeTo Speak Wisely
1977Jim EckbergBeaver Who Holds Council
1990Jerry OssKitshiwi WoachejekumuitTruly He Who Is The Light
1991Mike TyrrelKlamachpin SachgagunummenQuiet Leader
1991Dick TyrrelLenno Untschi Macheli KschikanMan of Many Knives
1993Mark EggertNuwingi GischileuWilling One Who Has Proven True
1993George PersonNekama Ahoaltuwamallsin BischuwiHe Who Loves the Wilderness
1993Kevin WilsonGettemagelensit SachgagunummenOne that is Humble in Leading
1999Steve StobbsKlamhattenaminCalm-Minded One
2002Dave BronsonGuttgennemen WitahmuiHe Who Gives Back Service
2003Paul AndersonGunaquot SakimaTall Chief
2004Nick ShawNihillatchi KsinachpinFree One Who Is at Leisure
2005Tim AndersonWowoatum GendatehundinSkillful Carpenter
2005Joyce WilsonWoapalanne KichkinetEagle Guide
2007Darle BladeSegauschsin TakachsinLifetime Leader
2012Tylor DobeyWulamallessohauwedHe Who Makes One Happy
2013Roger HagermanWischixin TakachsinActive Leader

More OA Information